Find Brunch Right Now

Recap: Teddy & The Bully Bar Spring Menu Preview

Save to Foursquare

It’s rare that the Bitches all get together for an event at once. With the slew of parties, work obligations, and Bitch work (pun intended), Becca, Social Bitch Amanda Jean, and I are rarely all at the same place at once.

However, the stars aligned and we all convened for the media preview of Teddy & The Bully Bar’s spring menu, which was worth the visit. The downtown patio is the perfect place to go for an after-work happy hour or dinner—it’s bustling and fun amid the tall glass buildings.

The new spring menu is a huge leap from Teddy’s past menus. Now the focus is on delicate dishes that are beautiful and flavorful. Gone is the heavy, fried all-American grub. This is Teddy’s finest hour.

Teddy & The Bully Bar has quickly become a favorite restaurant of all of ours. It was Amanda Jean’s first taste during the spring preview, and she went on to make reservations for Mother’s Day to wine and dine her mother.

2014-05-06 19.44.07-1

First we had a round of strong and sweet spring cocktails. Everyone at the table agreed that their favorite drink was the Roosevelt, but Amanda Jean was partial to the sangria. It was light, refreshing, and had a kick of something we just couldn’t put our fingers on. Turns out, that secret ingredient was apricot juice!

Then, it was on to sample-size adventures of the spring menu. The cantaloupe soup, served chilled with honey, milk cremé, and a cantaloupe ball was a light, refreshing start to the evening.

2014-05-06 19.08.40-1

The potato truffle croquettes were the most stunning dish of the evening, coated in black truffle, ramps and presented among wheatgrass and stones reminiscent of the stones used for massages. Another appetizer that’s more of a mainstay was the calamari, which I appreciated that it wasn’t fried.

The soft shell crabs were simultaneously the most frightening and most exciting dish of the evening. We were all a bit hesitant to bite into the fried full crab bodies, but what was most unique is that they were served among a bacon aioli cotton candy. Yes, you read that right, bacon cotton candy. And, once we saved up the courage, it was delicious.

2014-05-06 19.51.22-1

A unique entree of the evening that’s new on the menu was the coffee brine pork loin, served with caramelized onion, thyme spatzele, and sweet breads. While I learned the hard way long ago what sweet breads were. (As a teenage vegetarian, I had assumed it was, ya know, sweet bread), I was unsure about spatzele. As it turns out, it’s an eggy, crinkly pasta style dish, almost like a German gnocchi.

Everything that was served was like a work of art: perfectly plated, with gorgeous colors and delicious flavor. Becca loved the “Bass in a Glass” dish, which was a superbly cooked filet of sea bass, with a pea cluster in gelatin on the side. Quite unusual, but lovely.

2014-05-06 19.12.01-1

We concluded the evening with a dessert-and-cheese combination that was perfect for summer: the red wine sorbet served with huckleberry jam, chefs cheese, almond crumble, and nasturtium honey.

2014-05-06 20.05.22-2

I was convinced that was the dessert, but no, there was chocolate to be had. Little mini balls of chocolate fudge cake, served with raspberry brunt and passion fruit gel. As I prefer my chocolate straight up, I did not dip.

All in all, a great evening of cocktails and cuisine on the patio—the Bitches highly recommend you head back for happy hour (with great deals), brunch (Bitch-approved), or dinner (Bitch-previewed!)

Teddy & The Bull Bar
1200 19th St. NW
Washington, DC
202 872-8700

Save to Foursquare

Share Your Thoughts

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    You Might Also Want To Try
    More Bitching
    Keep In Touch
    Expository Essay Prompts High School